Can you believe it? Tape Project is ten years old! Thanks to everyone who has supported us in introducing studio quality tape reproduction to the audiophile community!

Author Topic: 7" reel on an ATR-102  (Read 1739 times)

Offline astrotoy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 398
    • View Profile
7" reel on an ATR-102
« on: December 25, 2016, 10:21:29 pm »
I am downsizing to only two R2R machines, my two ATR-102's. To accommodate my large collection of 7" prerecorded 4 track stereo tapes I had Greg Orton (Flux Magnetics) install a 4 track stereo playback head in my 1/4" head stack along with a switch - so I can play both 4 track stereo and 2 track tapes (and record 2 track tapes.  However, the 102 doesn't like playing from or to a 7" reel. I have been able to play my 4 track stereo tapes by winding them on 10.5" reels, which I do on my extra Otari MX5050BIII, hopefully soon gone.  Any suggestions on how to play 7" reels with the 102?  I'd rather not keep the Otari for the sole purpose of transfering tape back and forth between 7"  and 10.5" reels.

Thanks, Larry
Larry Toy CharterMember-BHReproTechnics1506/Akai747dbx/OtariMX5050B3-ClassicalVinylFreak-15Krecs-VPIHRXRimDrv-LyraSkala-HelikonMono-HerronVTSP3A/BHPhonoPre-PacificMicrosonics Model2 - Pyramix&MykerinosCard-OppoNE-Proceed AVP2+6/CVP2-CJ MET1-Cary 2A3SE-AvantgardeDuos-3Solos-VelodyneDD18Sub

Offline xcortes

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 389
    • View Profile
Re: 7" reel on an ATR-102
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2016, 08:56:46 pm »
The 10.5" reel holders come out and work as clamps for 7" reels. And in my case the machine has trouble playing the smaller (lighter?) reels. I ended up getting my Technics back for playing 7" reels.
Xavier Cortes

Offline astrotoy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 398
    • View Profile
Re: 7" reel on an ATR-102
« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2016, 08:55:18 pm »
Thanks, Xavier.  I'll try that.  I just sold my Otari, so I am down to two 102's.  Larry
Larry Toy CharterMember-BHReproTechnics1506/Akai747dbx/OtariMX5050B3-ClassicalVinylFreak-15Krecs-VPIHRXRimDrv-LyraSkala-HelikonMono-HerronVTSP3A/BHPhonoPre-PacificMicrosonics Model2 - Pyramix&MykerinosCard-OppoNE-Proceed AVP2+6/CVP2-CJ MET1-Cary 2A3SE-AvantgardeDuos-3Solos-VelodyneDD18Sub

Offline xcortes

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 389
    • View Profile
Re: 7" reel on an ATR-102
« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2017, 09:47:49 pm »
Hi Larry,

I found out what caused the trouble playing 7" reels. The speed selector switch connectors were very dirty causing a faulty connection. Cleaned the switch and now I can play my old 2 trackers on the ATR again!

Just for reference!
Xavier Cortes

Offline Waltzingbear

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: 7" reel on an ATR-102
« Reply #4 on: January 26, 2017, 03:24:04 pm »
You should have no problems using 7" reels on an ATR102, was just doing it last night. 7" on one side and 10.5 on the other.

Have Krieg come in and look at the machine, it may need adjustment.

one of the strengths of this machine is it will use almost anything on the reel platters, Ampex first demonstrated this machine at the AES show with both of the reels wildly off center, with no audible wow.

Cheers
Alan

Offline astrotoy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 398
    • View Profile
Re: 7" reel on an ATR-102
« Reply #5 on: February 01, 2017, 07:11:57 pm »
Thanks a lot.  I was able to do the clamp and play a 7" reel on one side and 10.5" on the other, all at 7.5ips.  Worked great.   Larry
Larry Toy CharterMember-BHReproTechnics1506/Akai747dbx/OtariMX5050B3-ClassicalVinylFreak-15Krecs-VPIHRXRimDrv-LyraSkala-HelikonMono-HerronVTSP3A/BHPhonoPre-PacificMicrosonics Model2 - Pyramix&MykerinosCard-OppoNE-Proceed AVP2+6/CVP2-CJ MET1-Cary 2A3SE-AvantgardeDuos-3Solos-VelodyneDD18Sub

Offline Waltzingbear

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: 7" reel on an ATR-102
« Reply #6 on: March 01, 2017, 07:46:50 pm »
the ATR uses a really tight servo on the reels, that's one of the things that makes it work so well. Because of that, ANY slippage of the reel on the platter will cause problems, that's why it is imperative that the reels be clamped down, the center splines on the reel platter are not enough.

Cheers
Alan

Offline astrotoy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 398
    • View Profile
Re: 7" reel on an ATR-102
« Reply #7 on: March 03, 2017, 01:28:08 am »
Thanks, Alan.  I found out pretty early how important tightening down the reel clamp was for my ATR102s.  One day I couldn't get the tapes to load. In desperation I called my tech and he said, "Are your reels tightened?"  Of course, my supply reel clamp was loose and the platter was spinning below the reels and it wouldn't load! 

Larry
Larry Toy CharterMember-BHReproTechnics1506/Akai747dbx/OtariMX5050B3-ClassicalVinylFreak-15Krecs-VPIHRXRimDrv-LyraSkala-HelikonMono-HerronVTSP3A/BHPhonoPre-PacificMicrosonics Model2 - Pyramix&MykerinosCard-OppoNE-Proceed AVP2+6/CVP2-CJ MET1-Cary 2A3SE-AvantgardeDuos-3Solos-VelodyneDD18Sub